Fortunately, the process of granting marriage licenses in South Carolina is simple. We`ve put together everything you need to know to make the process as easy as possible. As long as you know the steps needed to get your marriage license, including changing your name, you`re ready to make it official (literally and legally). The scenic spots of your dreams and the impressive wedding vendors are waiting for you in South Carolina, so let`s get started. After contacting your marriage authority, you should visit our online store to purchase the necessary documents. As a general rule, we advise South Carolina clergy to receive an ordination package and add a reputable letter to your order. While registration of a minister in the state of South Carolina is not required, ULC ministers in the area have often told us that county officials require proof of your ordination before accepting a marriage that you solemnize as legally solemn. Also, please try to leave at least 3 weeks between the wedding ceremony date and your order to ensure you receive all your materials in advance. To marry in South Carolina, both members of the couple must be at least 18 years old. Persons between the ages of 16 and 17 who live with their parents may marry in the State of Palmetto with the consent of their parents or guardians. To prove consent, the couple must provide affidavits from parents or guardians.
At Universal Life Church, we receive several calls from wedding leaders in South Carolina after obtaining their marriage license by ordering online and asking for advice on how to celebrate a wedding ceremony. Once the legal issues are settled, planning a wedding (although it can be a daunting task) can be a lot of fun. We suggest that new wedding ministers in South Carolina who are concerned about the ceremony read one of our helpful wedding guides. The “Ministerial Training” section of our website should provide a useful reminder for more experienced clergy. If you and your future spouse have decided to get married in South Carolina and have confirmed that you can legally marry in the state (remember the age requirements), you will need to apply for your marriage license. Here`s everything you need to know about the SC marriage certificate application process. South Carolina law only allows certain people to perform marriages. The group of authorized officials includes evangelical preachers, Jewish rabbis, state officials legally authorized to take the oath, and leaders of recognized Native American tribes. (C) No woman may marry her father, grandfather, son, grandson, father-in-law, brother, grandmother`s husband, husband, granddaughter`s husband, husband, grandfather, son, son, brother, brother. In South Carolina, all marriage leaders must be at least 18 years old to legally perform the marriage. Basically, you must not only be an ordained minister, but also a legal adult.
In South Carolina, in most cases, you must be 18 years of age or older to apply for your marriage license. However, as long as you are 16 years old and have parental consent to get married, you can do so with a notarized consent form. In addition, there is an exception to the parental eligibility rule. If a woman under the age of 18 is pregnant or has a child, she can marry the father of her child without parental consent in the state of South Carolina. For a wedding to be legally binding, the ceremony must contain two key elements: Full of old-world charm and gorgeous views, South Carolina is an idyllic place to hold a wedding ceremony. Whether the couple wants to get married on the beach, in a mansion, near a forest, or virtually in any other setting, Palmetto State has something for every couple. While planning the wedding ceremony may be the couple`s top priority, it`s important that both the officer and both members of the couple know how to perform a legally binding wedding in South Carolina. This guide discusses the state`s specific and unique marriage requirements. Read on to learn more about marriage laws, licensing requirements, and obligations for all parties. South Carolina law allows residents and non-residents to marry in the state.
According to federal law, the state must also recognize same-sex partnerships. However, it does not allow mentally incapable people to marry. In addition, not all blood relatives closer than first-degree cousins are allowed to apply for a marriage certificate or marry in South Carolina. If you haven`t already, you should be ordained online at Universal Life Church. Ordination is free and can be completed in minutes. Thousands of legal marriages are celebrated each year by ULC ministers around the world. Start the process by clicking on the big blue button below! A person must be at least 18 years old to marry a couple in South Carolina. State law permits the following persons to serve as public servants: state officials authorized to take the oath, spiritual leaders of recognized Native American tribes, gospel preachers, and Jewish rabbis. Clergy ordained by Universal Life Church are allowed to perform marriages. Now that you have done all of the above, you are ready to celebrate the wedding! Make sure the couple has picked up their South Carolina marriage license from the appropriate office. This license never expires and there is a mandatory 1-day waiting period between the time the couple picks up the marriage certificate in South Carolina and the time the ceremony can be legally performed.
Please note that the signed licence must be returned to the issuing entity within 30 days of the ceremony. (B) No man shall marry his mother, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, mother-in-law, sister, grandfather`s wife, son`s wife, grandson`s wife, wife`s wife, wife`s wife, wife`s grandmother, wife`s daughter, wife`s granddaughter, brother`s daughter, sister`s daughter, father`s sister, his mother`s sister or any other man. Although there are no official registration requirements in South Carolina, you must be an ordained minister to legally solemnize the marriage. Local regulations in South Carolina require that marriage officials be ordained under the designation of “minister” by a religious organization such as American Marriage Ministries. While you don`t have to register with a South Carolina government office as a marriage official, it`s a good idea to keep personal records of your official ministry credentials. Proof of your ordination is essential if the couple, government officials, or the place of marriage request proof of your ordination. We recommend that you order your South Carolina ministerial ordination package to receive your official identification cards. Your kit contains your official certificate of ordination and your letter of good reputy.
His reputable letter is signed, dated and notarized by a church official. Your ministerial ordination package also includes your AMM Ministerial Manual, a valuable resource for information on formal training. A portion of the proceeds of your order will go to our charitable activities. So not only do you get your AMM service rights, but you also support a good cause. In South Carolina, married couples and wedding leaders are generally free to hold the wedding ceremonies they want. Still, state law requires both members of the couple to agree to the marriage. The Minister must also declare the couple legally married. Don`t forget to consider the 24-hour wait here! In most cases, it doesn`t take long to apply for your marriage license in South Carolina, but keep in mind that the state can`t issue you your license until that 24-hour period expires. And you need to make sure you go to probate court offices Monday through Friday during normal business hours. S.C. Code ann.
§ 20-1-250. Applicants with a minor consent; Consent of parent or legal guardian. Planning a wedding in South Carolina can be divided into two responsibilities. They are: Members of the clergy who receive their ordination from the Church of Universal Life are recognized as religious actors in the State of Palmetto. Therefore, preachers of the Church of Universal Life may officiate at marriage ceremonies, provided they are at least 18 years old. A marriage certificate cannot be issued if one of the applicants is under sixteen years of age.